DD Vs MI: Jason Roy Stars In DD's Most Thrilling Win

CWG 2018: Saina Nehwal Thrash PV Sindhu To Bag Badminton Gold

SRH Vs KKR Highlights: Kane Williamson Classy 50 Leads SRH To Win Over KKR

Written by : Info Box Team

Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) continued their position at the top of the IPL points table in the 11the season of the Indian Premier League (IPL) after they thrashed actor Shah Rukh Khan-owned Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) by 5 wickets at the Eden Gardens Stadium in Kolkata on Saturday night.

SRH skipper Kane Williamson's classy half-century coasted to a 5-wicket win over KKR and registered their first ever victory at the Eden Gardens in Kolkata. Let us have a look at the highlights of the 10th IPL encounter between SRH & KKR.


  • Sunrisers Hyderabad captain Kane Williamson won the toss and asked Dinesh Karthik & Co to set the target at the KKR's home ground.

  • KKR made 3 changes, Rinku Singh, Tom Curran and Vinay Kumar were ousted while Shubman Gill, Mitchell Johnson and Shivam Mavi were included in the playing XI.

  • India's world cup winning U-19 players Shubhman Gill and Shivam Mavi made their IPL debut against SRH.

  • On the other hand, the visitors made 1 change Sandeep Sharma was replaced by Bhuvneshwar Kumar.

Kolkata Knight Riders Innings

  • Chris Lynn and Robin Uthappa started the innings very slowly as KKR scored 23 runs in the first 4 overs with the loss of 1 wicket. KKR vice-captain Robin Uthappa (3) was removed by Bhuvneshwar Kumar in the 3rd over.

  • Chris Lynn's 49 was the best knock in the Kolkata Knight Riders innings. Lynn's 34-ball 49, laced with 7 fours and 1 six. Nitish Rana scored 18 runs while Sunil Narine made 9 runs. The U-19 hard-hitting batsman Shubman Gill scored just 3 runs in his IPL debut match.

  • KKR skipper Dinesh Karthik came out to bat at the fall of Sunil Narine wicket. The 32-year-old Tamil Nadu player opened his account with a single and scored 29 runs in 27 balls with 2 beautiful boundaries & 1 huge six into the stands.

  • Finally, KKR managed to score 138 runs with the loss of 8 wickets. Bhuvneshwar Kumar snared 3 wickets while Billy Stanlake and Shakib Al Hasan claimed a couple of wickets each.

Sunrisers Hyderabad Innings

  • Local boy Wriddhiman Saha (24) and Delhi dasher Shikhar Dhawan (7) started the chase on a poor note as both openers were out in the first power-play.

  • Captain Kane Williamson laid the foundation for the SRH's win as he scored 50 in 44 balls with 4 beautiful boundaries and 1 mammoth punch over the rope. Kane Williamson played the captain's innings for his team and he batted beautifully.

  • Manish Pandey (4) once again failed to score runs freely as he was trapped by Kuldeep Yadav in the 9th over. All-rounder Shakib Al Hasan made 27 runs in 21 balls with 2 fours and 1 six. Shakib and Williamson established a 59-run stand for the fourth wicket partnership.

  • Yusuf Pathan (17) and Deepak Hooda (5) finished the things in style. KKR bowlers Sunil Narine scalped 2 wickets while Mitchell Johnson, Piyush Chawla and Kuldeep Yadav chipped a wicket each.

Brief Scores

KKR: 138/8 (Chris Lynn 49, Karthik 29; Bhuvi 3/26, Billy Stanlake 2/21, Shakib2/21).

SRH: 139/5 (Saha 24, Williamson 50, Shakib 27, Yusuf Pathan 17; Sunil Narine 2/17).

Man-of-the-Match: Billy Stanlake (2/21).

Orange Cap: Shikhar Dhawan (130 runs).

Purple Cap: Mayank Markande (7 wickets).

The next IPL games will be played between Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) Vs Rajasthan Royals (RR) (4 PM) and Kings XI Punjab (KXIP) Vs Chennai Super Kings (CSK) (8 PM) on April 15. The matches are scheduled to play at the M Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bengaluru & IS Bindra Stadium in Mohali respectively.

(Image Courtesy: Twitter)