KKR Defeat KXIP In A High-Scoring Game To Regain 4th Spot

CSK Vs SRH: Ambati Rayudu Maiden IPL 100 Smashes Hyderabad To Pulp

RCB Vs DD Highlights: Devilliers, Kohli Muscle Bangalore To A Stunning Win

Written by : Info Box Team

Mr 360 degree's (AB de Villiers) fantastic batting display and the Run-machine Virat Kohli master-class show guided Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) to keep their play-off hopes alive in the ongoing 11th season of the Indian Premier League (IPL 2018) after they thrashed Delhi Daredevils (DD) by 5 wickets at the Feroz Shah Kotla Ground in New Delhi on Saturday night.

Virat Kohli and AB de Villiers lit up the Kotla Stadium with their powerful hitting. It was a treat to watch AB de Villiers & Virat Kohli sensational stroke play and the duo smashed the Delhi bowlers all round the park. Let us have a look at the highlights of the 45th IPL encounter between RCB & DD.


  • Virat Kohli leading Royal Challengers Bangalore won the toss and sent Shreyas Iyer & his boys to bat first at Sehwag's home ground.

  • Royal Challengers Bangalore made 1 change in their playing XI, Sarfaraz Khan was replaced by Manan Vohra.

  • Delhi Daredevils decided to go with 3 major changes in their playing XI, Sandeep Lamichhane, Junior Dala and Abhishek Sharma were included while Glenn Maxwell, Liam Plunkett and Shahbaz Nadeem were ousted.

Delhi Daredevils Innings

  • Delhi Daredevils opener Prithvi Shaw and Jason Roy open the innings on a bad note as both the batsmen got out in Yuzvendra Chahal's bowling. The teenage batsman Prithvi Shaw scored just 2 runs while Jason Roy scored 12 runs in 9 balls with 1 four and 1 six.

  • Rishabh Pant once again rose to the occasion as the left-hander scored 61 runs in 34 deliveries with 5 smashing hits to the fence and 4 mammoth punches over the rope. Rishabh Pant played a major knock in boosting the net run rate, but he was trapped by Moeen Ali in the 13th over.

  • DD skipper Shreyas scored 32 runs in 35 balls with 3 beautiful 4s before being out in Siraj's bowling. Rishabh Pant along with Shreyas Iyer stitched the 93-run stand for the third wicket partnership.

  • The 17-year-old Abhishek Sharma produced some fireworks in the end to guide the hosts post a defending total of 181.

  • Delhi's teenaged all-rounder scored unbeaten 46 runs in 19 balls thumped with 3 beautiful boundaries and four towering sixes along the way.

  • The Tamil Nadu all-rounder Vijay Shankar scored unbeaten 21 runs in 20 balls with a couple of boundaries. Finally, Shreyas Iyer and his boys finished their innings on a high note.

  • For RCB, Yuzvendra Chahal bagged 2 wickets while Moeen Ali and Mohammed Siraj chipped a wicket each.

Royal Challengers Bangalore Innings

  • Chasing a target of 182, RCB lost their openers Parthiv Patel and Moeen Ali cheaply for a low score. Parthiv Patel scored 6 runs while Moeen Ali made 1 run and got out in the 2nd and 3rd over respectively.

  • In a must-win situation, RCB skipper Virat Kohli (70) came to the crease with a purpose that was clearly identified. The Indian Run-Machine made run-scoring look so easy and played eye-catching strokes; during his 40-ball stay in the middle, Virat Kohli smashes 7 fours and 4 maximum hits into the stands.

  • On the other hand, AB de Villiers scored unbeaten 72-run blitz which came off a mere 37 balls. The 360-degree batsman, who brought up the winning runs in style with a mammoth six over the extra cover.

  • The South African hard-hitting batsman slammed 4 beautiful boundaries and 6 mammoth punches over the rope.

  • Virat Kohli and AB de Villiers came together to add 118 runs in 64 deliveries for the third wicket partnership.

  • The Indian captain Virat Kohli was dismissed by Amit Mishra in the 14th over. Mandeep scored 13 runs while Sarfaraz Khan made 11 runs.

  • Finally, RCB chased down the target with 1 over to spare and 5 wickets remaining. For DD, Trent Boult scalped 2 wickets while Harshal Patel, Amit Mishra and Sandeep chipped a wicket each.


DD: 181/4 (Iyer 32, Pant 61, Abhishek Sharma 46*, Vijay Shankar 21*; Chahal 2/28)

RCB: 187/5 (Virat Kohli 70, AB de Villiers 72*; Trent Boult 2/40)

Player-of-the-Match: AB de Villers (72* runs)

Orange Cap (Top Run Scorer): Rishabh Pant (582 runs)

Purple Cap (Top Wicket Taker): Andrew Tye (20 wickets)

Top Team: SRH with 16 points (9 wins out of 11 matches)

Bottom Team: DD with 6 points (3 wins out of 12 matches)

The next 46th & 47th IPL games will be played between Chennai Super Kings (CSK) Vs Sunrisers Hyderabad (KKR) at 4 PM and Mumbai Indians (MI) Vs Rajasthan Royals (RR) at 8 PM on May 13. The matches are scheduled to play at the Maharashtra Cricket Association's International Stadium in Pune & at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai respectively.

(Image Courtesy: Twitter)