Sonia Gandhi To Meet Senior Congress Leaders On May 22 To Muster Strategies

Andhra Octopus Predicts TRS In Telangana, TDP In Andhra & Fourth Front In Centre

Voting Began For Last Phase Of Elections

Written by : Info Box Team
  • thumbnail_1558245146_9023890.jpg
  • thumbnail_1558245286_9023890.jpg

Voting began on Sunday across 59 Lok Sabha constituencies spanning seven states and a Union Territory across the north, central and east India in the final of the mega seven-phase electoral exercise.

A total electorate of over 10.1 crore is eligible to cast their ballots in this last phase which covers all remaining seats in the three states - Uttar Pradesh (13, including the high-profile Varanasi constituency), Bihar (8) and West Bengal (9) - where polling took place across all seven phases, as well as in Madhya Pradesh (8) and Jharkhand (3) which also saw multi-stage voting.

All the 13 constituencies in Punjab, one in Chandigarh, and four in Himachal Pradesh also figure in this phase.

The 918 candidates in this phase include Prime Minister Narendra Modi from Varanasi, Union Minister Ravi Shankar Prasad who faces actor-politician and sitting MP Shatrughan Sinha (now in the Congress) in Patna Sahib, and actor-turned-politicians Sunny Deol in Gurdaspur (BJP), and Mimi Chakraborty and Nusrat Jahan, both contesting for the Trinamool Congress from Jadavpur and Basirhat, respectively.

Re-polling is also being held in several booths in parliamentary seats in six states and in Assembly constituencies in two. These seats include Kerala's Kannur and Kasargod, Tamil Nadu's Dharmapuri, Theni, Thiruvallur, Cuddalore and Erode, Haryana's Faridabad, Uttar Pradesh's Azamgarh, West Bengal's Bankura, Andhra Pradesh's Chittoor parliamentary and Chandragiri Assembly constituencies and 34 Assembly segments in 10 Odisha districts.

Voting is also being held in bypolls to four Assembly seats in Tamil Nadu, two in Karnataka and the Panaji Assembly seat, which fell vacant after the death of Goa Chief Minister Manohar Parrikar.

The Lok Sabha elections started on April 11. Counting of votes will take place on May 23.


Comment Here

All comments (0)