Put Security Forces On Alert, Centre Directs All States & UTs

Article 370: Closely Following Events In J&K, Says US

Ramon Magsaysay Award: All You Need To Know About Asia's Highest Honour

Written by : Info Box Team
  • thumbnail_1565073147_9030528.jpg

As 2019 Ramon Magsaysay Award has been announced to the five individuals, one among them is Indian Journalist Ravish Kumar. He has been honoured with the Ramon Magsaysay Award for harnessing journalism to give voice to the voiceless. He is NDTV India's senior executive editor and one of the most influential Journalists in the country.

The four other winners are Angkhana Neelapaijit from Thailand, Ko Swe Win from Myanmar, Kim Jong-Ki from South Korea and Raymundo Pujante Cayabyab from the Philippines.

We now want to explain when actually the award was established and why it is regarded as Asia's premier prize.

  • Ramon Magsaysay Award, established in 1957 named after Ramon del Fierro Magsaysay, who was the third president of the Republic of the Philippines after World War II.

  • The Award is Asia's premier prize and highest honour which celebrates the greatness of spirit and transformative leadership in Asia. The Trustees of the Ramon Magsaysay Award Foundation annually present this award to the individuals who excelled in their respective fields of work.

  • Awardees are presented a medallion with an embossed image of Ramon Magsaysay facing right in profile along with a certificate. Ramon Magsaysay Award is also regarded as an Asian version of Noble prize.

  • The Award is presented to the winners in formal ceremonies in Manila, Philippines on August 31st, the birth anniversary of former Philippine President whose ideals inspired the Award’s creation.

Indians who won the Ramon Magsaysay Award

Many Indians have been awarded this prestigious award - Acharya Vinoba Bhave, Mother Teresa, Jayaprakash Narayan, Satyajit Ray, M.S. Subbalakshmi, Kiran Bedi, T N Seshan, and Arvind Kejriwal are some of the notable recipients of the award.

Some Important facts about Indian Winners:

First Indian who won the Ramon Magsaysay Award: Acharya Vinoba Bhave

First Indian woman who won this Award: Mother Teresa

First Indian who won this award for Public service: Jayaprakash Narayan

First Indian who won this award for Journalism: Amitabh Chowdhury

First Indian who won this award under Government Service Category: C D Deshmukh

The awards were used to given in six categories, five of which were discontinued in 2009: Government Service (1958–2008), Public Service (1958–2008), Community Leadership (1958–2008), Journalism, Literature, and Creative Communication Arts (1958–2008), Peace and International Understanding (1958–2008), Emergent Leadership and Uncategorized.

(Image Courtesy: Twitter)

Comment Here

All comments (0)