TS Polls: Stage Set For Polling, 2.8 Crore To Vote

2018 Elections: As Of Now 56% Voting In Telangana, 59% In Rajasthan

Polling Underway In Rajastan And Telangana To Elect New Government

Written by : Info Box Team
  • thumbnail_1544159695_9023890.jpg
  • thumbnail_1544160031_9023890.jpg

Polling has begun in Telangana and Rajasthan for 119 and 199 assembly constituencies to elect a new government in the state.


In Telangana, polling in 13 trouble-prone constituencies is scheduled to end at 4 pm, voting in the rest of the constituencies will end at 5 pm this evening.

A total of 1,821 candidates are in the fray, along with a few independents. Malkajgiri of Medchal district constituency has the highest number of contestants (42) while Banswada Of Nizamabad district has the least (6) contestants.

Out of a total 2,80,64,684 voters registered in the state's electoral roll, 1,41,56,182 are males while 1,39,05,811 are females. In order to maintain law and order in the state, 32,815 polling stations in the state will be manned by five personnel and one or two constables on an average. About 10,000 polling stations have been identified as critical and extra forces will be deployed in these polling stations.

The present elections are the first polls being held exclusively for Telangana after its formation and mark the first time when VVPATs are being used for all the 119 Constituencies.

The state is witnessing a three-cornered fight between TRS, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and the grand alliance of the Congress, TDP, Communist Party of India (Marxist) and the Telangana Jana Samithi, all vying for the majority of seats. The All India Majlis-e-Ittehad-ul Muslimeen (AIMIM) is also contesting polls from several assembly seats.


Over 2,000 candidates are in the fray for 199 assembly seats in Rajasthan. Elections will take place at 51,667 polling stations where 4,74,79,402 people will cast their vote. Out of the 200 constituencies in the state, polling is being held in 199. Voting in Alwar constituency was countermanded following the death of a Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) candidate.

Results will be declared on December 11 along with Chhattisgarh, Madhya Pradesh, Telangana and Mizoram. Assembly elections are also being held in Telangana today.

Comment Here

All comments (0)