Maharashtra CM Devendra Fadnavis Reshuffles His Cabinet...

KCR Meets Jagana Mohan Reddy, Invites Him For Kaleshwaram Project Inauguration

PM Modi Take Oath As Member Of 17th Lok Sabha & Asked Active Participation Of Opposition

Written by : Info Box Team
  • thumbnail_1560751583_9023890.jpg

Prime Minister Narendra Modi along with other MPs took oath in the 17th Lok Sabha after his reelection from Varanasi Parliamentary constituency. Pro tem Speaker Virendra Kumar, who sworn in earlier today administered the oath to Modi and other parliamentarians.

As a leader of the house, PM Modi was the first member to take oath followed by other senior MPs such as Defence Minister Rajnath Singh, Home Minister Amit Shah, and Road, Transport and Highways Minister Nitin Gadkari.

In 17 the Lok Sabha, the new government will present the Union Budget and some key legislations including the Triple Talaq Bill being on top of the government's agenda.

PM Modi Take Oath As 17th Loak Sabha MP

Before the session, Prime Minister Narendra Modi asked the Opposition not to bother about their numbers, telling them to "speak actively and participate" in House proceedings. Ahead of the first session of the new Lok Sabha, Modi said the role of an "Opposition and an active Opposition is important in a parliamentary democracy.

"When we come to Parliament, we should forget Paksh (allies) and Vipaksh (opposition). We should think about issues with a 'Nishpaksh spirit' (unbiased) and work in the larger interest of the nation," Modi added.

The Prime Minister also suggested MPs to let Parliament's proceedings progress smoothly so that aspirations of the people could be fulfilled.

Noting that Monday marks the start of the first session after the 2019 Lok Sabha polls, the Prime Minister welcomed all new MPs and said: "with them comes new hopes, new aspirations and new determination to serve".  Modi also expressed satisfaction that the new House has a high number of women MPs.

Comment Here

All comments (0)